20 degrees out, and no heat or defrost! 07 chevy Malibu - Chevy Malibu Forum: Chevrolet Malibu Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
CMF Rookie Member

20 degrees out, and no heat or defrost! 07 chevy Malibu

So far, heating core and thermostat are fine. Checked all fuses and they are fine. Hoses in the engine are hot. Plenty of coolant.
Ex husband changed the cat converter a couple of months ago and this happened a couple of weeks later. He can't help.
Cold air blows through dash vents.
Defrost vent under windshield blows nothing.
Console dials work EXCEPT the dial which switches from defrost, head, feet, head and feet etc no longer clicks. Just turns smoothly through the choices.
Dial which regulates temp clicks though options normally but only blows cold air.
The ac also does not work.
So I'm no mechanic but Im thinking it's something in that that console panel. I'm about ready to pull the dashboard apart and see what's behind it.
Any ideas before I do something crazy like that?
Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 06:49 AM
Administrator

Garage
Re: 20 degrees out, and no heat or defrost! 07 chevy Malibu

Under the passenger's side of the dash, just above where the feet go, is where the blower is. That's also where you'll find the heater core. If the car has been running long enough for the engine to be warmed up, lift the hood and feel the heater hoses. If they're both warm or hot to the touch, that's good. Next, feel the HVAC (Heating - Ventilation - Air Conditioning) case to see if it feels warm in any place. If so, then the heat has reached the inside of the car but it's not reaching you. There is a "flapper door" that the temperature knob controls.