Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Oil Change

69K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  maliboob 
#1 ·
I just made my first oil change on my 2009 Malibu LT 4cyl and had a couple of questions. The main one that I can't seem to find anywhere is how much oil do I put in it exactly? I didn't see it in the manual and I couldn't really find anything online after searching. I took out a lot, my last oil change was 5 months ago after about 4,000 miles at the dealership when I bought the car and I'm nervous that they put in too much oil. I put in 4 quarts and took a look at the dipstick and it seems to be fine but I'd rather play it safe and hear what I'm supposed to use.

I saw that the socket for the oil filter requires a 1 1/4" socket. I'm not really good with shopping for tools but would this one work fine: [ame]http://www.amazon.com/Sunex-SUN240-Standard-Impact-Socket/dp/B00018AEK2[/ame] ? I had to use channel locks which scuffed up the plastic a little bit and would rather not use them again.

And one last thing. I wasn't leaking any oil or anything, but when I took the filter out, the cap didn't have the O-ring on it. I ended up using the one that came with my filter. That's not going to do any damage is it? I figured at least now with the o-ring on it, it should come off much easier next time.

Thanks in advance.

See less See more
#2 ·
I don't know how well this chart will show up but I'll put it here anyway as most people should be able to figure it out if you look at it for a while. 4cyl oil capacity is 5 qts and v6 is 5.5 qts.

The oil filter socket you need is this one, [ame]http://www.amazon.com/Lisle-14700-Filter-Wrench-2-2L/dp/B0009OMYAQ[/ame] and though the socket you picked will work, the Lisle socket fits easier, some cars have different things attached to the motor at the area of the filter and the Lisle socket works best.