Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

98 Bu Difficult Starting Issue

4K views 7 replies 2 participants last post by  ejskpt 
#1 ·
Hey,im a new member on the forum, used it for a year tho, to start off there's some smart and talented members.
THE ISSUE:
I have a 98(210k) Bu i think a base model has 3.1 v6. I drove it to work this morning everything seemed ok as normal. Im a delivery driver so after an hour I went to start it but it will not start at all.

Replaced Alternator,Battery 18 mo. ago,Replaced starter few weeks ago(USED).
Replaced intake manifold kit,thermstat,spark plugs,basic self tune up/oil chng.

My car will crank and its not the theft issue and i can smell fuel as well. It gets as close as possible without starting, if i try to turn the key for too long it will make a large zzzing sound (sounds like a starter messing up but 10x louder) and idk where sound is coming from.

Tried to start a hour later starts and ran maybe 1/4 second then backfired and died? :mad: After work tried jumping off still extremely close to starting, but nada.

Trying fuses in a few hours. Will update. I heard maybe crankshaft pos. sen. or fatherinlaw(DIY'er) suggested maybe timing problem. Thanks for the insight.
Any suggestions on where/what to start checking to find solution would be greatly helpful. Im a student in last sem. for industrial engineering technican so i have the applitude just dont have many trouble-shooting skills. thanks happy holidays!

See less See more
#2 ·
If you can see the cam lobes by removing the oil fill cap see if they're moving as you crank.

Also, if the timing belt skipped a tooth it could do what you're describing while still making the cam turn, just out of time.

If it's possible to inspect or see the cam wheel without disassembling a bunch of stuff, see if it's still lined up when engine is at TDC.