Electrical system upgrades for sound system??? - Chevy Malibu Forum: Chevrolet Malibu Forums
Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

ChevyMalibuForum.com is the premier Chevrolet Malibu Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 12-27-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
kaydennicholson
CMF Junior Member
2010 Malibu 1LT
Dark Steel Mocha

Gallery: 0
Question Electrical system upgrades for sound system???

Okay guys so im new to the chevy world as i just purchased a 2010 malibu LT 4 cylinder ecotech. I have been experiencing bad dimming and even noticed power steering warnings and even cruise control gets kicked off when the subs hit when they're turned up. I dont know what I should do to get the electrical system where it needs to be. Here's What I have so far:
2 12" RE audio SE-X drives and an Alpine PDX 1000 amp with a 2 farad cap (dont believe in caps but got it cheap) and thats it right now.
HOWEVER im already noticing very different results as far as lack of power compared to when i had them installed in my previous car. I know im not getting a 1000 watts out of that amp from this car.
I intend on adding a 7in touch screen to the dash and new speakers all the way around (infiniti references a good choice? and never amped speakers other than subs, do they make much of a difference?). so with that being said, this electrical system is simply not going to work.
What do i do? Havent done the big three upgrade and dont know if an upgraded alternator would provide the results i am looking for so i need help!
And as a heads up I do listen to the music loud at times and I know its not good for you but I'm stubborn and am not here to be told that (hope i dont sound rude). Thanks in advance for the help and the budget isnt exactly too awful tight but cant spend like 2 grand on just electrical upgrades, just all depends on the results i should expect to see.

Last edited by kaydennicholson; 12-27-2012 at 09:52 PM. Reason: for to add the cap