How-To: Reset TPMS Sensor - Page 2 - Chevy Malibu Forum: Chevrolet Malibu Forums
Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center


ChevyMalibuForum.com is the premier Chevrolet Malibu Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2009, 08:00 PM   #11
Yury
CMF Veteran Member
 
Yury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 714
Gallery: 18
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESCAPEMAX View Post
Strange, I Rotated my tires at 6,000 Miles. Never did this. Now I have 10,400 Miles and no lights. And mine does read the actual pressure in each wheel.
Escapemax
I don't see how this is possible. Are you sure the wheels are not mixed up in the readout? I.e. your LR is shown as RL for instance?
__________________
1999 Honda Prelude base, 5 speed
2008 Toyota Yaris 4 door hatchback, auto
Yury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2009, 05:32 AM   #12
ElantraMax
CMF Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Trenton, NJ
Posts: 541
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Guess it doesnt matter as long as all the wheels are set to the same pressure.
__________________
Formerly EscapeMax
2013 Hyundai Elantra Coupe GS
2010 Yamaha Majesty (YP400)
ElantraMax is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 12:04 AM   #13
triplex-08
CMF Junior Member
 
triplex-08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: hell
Posts: 32
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

it does matter, as the vehicle has to know what tire is in which position, unlike most manufacturers, you have to do a complete procedure on these vehicles, as it only has 1 receiver, as in some manufacturers use independent receivers for each wheel, and they do not have a procedure to relearn positions, it does it automatically in some cases.

if you have the vehicle thinking the tires are set in position, say you rotate the tires and now the RF has a leak, well that tire was in the right rear before rotation, and now it has a leak, but the vehicle thinks its in the right rear, because the vehicle was never reset to have the tire positions learned.

easiest way to tell is with a tech 2 and the kent moore tool for the TPM systems. you can diagnose systems relatively easy with both tools.
it gives you the ability to view which sensor is in each wheel, by providing individual TPM sensor ID's unique to each wheel and vehicle. if you have a system that is suspect to have an issue with the system, you can verify that the vehicle knows where each tire is placed, it will display the ID information on the tech 2 for each individual wheel, and which position they are in.
__________________
ASE Master Certified Technician


currently driving- 09 Chevy Impala LT, 83 Chevy Camaro Z28
triplex-08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 06:27 AM   #14
catfang
CMF Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 37
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Lets say my dealer rotated my tires and I don't know if they did this procedure. I assume its ok to do it myself even if I would in effect be doing it over again??
__________________
2009 2LT 2.4L 6 spd
Imperial Blue, Cocoa/Cashmere Interior
Bright Aluminum Wheels
catfang is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 07:21 AM   #15
Yury
CMF Veteran Member
 
Yury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 714
Gallery: 18
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfang View Post
Lets say my dealer rotated my tires and I don't know if they did this procedure. I assume its ok to do it myself even if I would in effect be doing it over again??
Yes, it's absolutely ok.
__________________
1999 Honda Prelude base, 5 speed
2008 Toyota Yaris 4 door hatchback, auto
Yury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 12:58 PM   #16
Speedster
CMF Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 193
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by catfang View Post
Lets say my dealer rotated my tires and I don't know if they did this procedure. I assume its ok to do it myself even if I would in effect be doing it over again??
If you're not sure if the dealer did it, you can either do it yourself, or do a test by letting pressure out of, say, the left front, then checking the DIC (driver information center) to see if it matches.

My dealer skipped the step, so I performed the reset procedure and it went fine. My only issue was that the blinkers didn't indicate which wheel to do, so I had to just follow the instructions without that additional aid.
__________________
2009 Chevrolet Malibu LS
Summit White
Speedster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2009, 07:01 AM   #17
hoahai
CMF Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 194
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Got the 2nd tire rotation yesterday and reset TPMS. It worked great as usual. Just for curiosity, I paid some attention to the turn signals this time as there have been some complaints that the signals did not come on. The signals did come on for me. They flashed only one time very quick after the chirp sounded (about 1 sec or less). So you have to pay close attention to recognize it. As stated in other thread, this turn signal flash is obsolete because you already know the tire order needs to be done.
__________________
08 2LT White/Titanium, 4cyl/4spd
Born 04/08 Lake Orion
hoahai is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2010, 04:05 PM   #18
Jlr200311
CMF Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: alabama
Posts: 20
Gallery: 0
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

Yeah its not as hard as it sounds... Thanks for the info.
Jlr200311 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2010, 09:17 PM   #19
Chad
CMF Senior Member
2010 Malibu LS
Gold
 
Chad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 237
Gallery: 9
Send a message via AIM to Chad
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

This seems like a whole lot of work for nothing. Is it absolutely necessary? I am getting mine rotate this Friday and I am not sure if I want to go to the trouble to do all of this lol.
__________________
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2010, 04:30 AM   #20
DrivenDaily
Administrator
2011 3.6/ A6 LTZ
Red Jewel Tintcoat
 
DrivenDaily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 9,228
Gallery: 6
Garage
Default Re: TPMS Reset Procedure

If the dealer rotates them they're also supposed to reset it. If they don't (like mine did last time) take it back in and ask them to finish the job.
__________________

'11 LTZ, born Aug 2010, Fairfax, KS

V6/A6, Red Jewel Tintcoat / Cocoa-Cashmere, Sunroof
Mods: WeatherTech mats, CHMSL Pulser

How-to: LEDs in mirrors :: How-to: 1-Wipe Wash
How-to: Remote express windows up/down


Traded: '09 2LT Black Granite Metallic V6 / A6 at 20,058 miles
Lost: '11 LTZ RJT V6 / A6 in flood at 44K miles
Muffler mod on '09
DrivenDaily is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy Malibu Forum: Chevrolet Malibu Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS sensor problems JeffreyRosskopf Wheels, Tires & Suspension (Generation 7) 2 04-12-2011 09:23 AM
HELP - How do I reset the remote? johnkris1 General Discussion (Generation 7) 5 03-06-2010 08:33 AM
Question for folks who have done a reset of the TPMS Speedster Do It Yourself Maintenance (Generation 7) 7 08-06-2009 12:30 AM
Oil Reset Question Mudlizard General Discussion (Generation 7) 8 04-28-2009 10:19 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
The Chevy Malibu Logo, Chevy Malibu Typeface and Chevy Logo are Trademark General Motors. We are in no way affiliated with General Motors, we are simply an enthusiasts' site.