4Likes
  • 1 Post By Darthz
  • 2 Post By Mrtn82
  • 1 Post By cp-the-nerd

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 02:29 AM Thread Starter
CMF Rookie Member

Rear brake drum to disc upgrade

Hello. This is my first time posting. I have an 07 Malibu LS sedan with a 2.2L ecotec. Currently looking into doing a drum to disc brake upgrade. My question is about the proportioning valve. Would I actually need a different valve to make the conversion work or will the calipers work with the one I have? I couldn't find any listing with a different part number from the one I have but on some sites it says to use only with a front disc rear drum system. Even checked at a GM dealership. It's the only part number listed. The only option from that is an ABS pressure modulator but, my Malibu doesn't have ABS. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 04:35 AM
Administrator

Garage
Re: Rear brake drum to disc upgrade

Check out this thread and the comment from member @RalphP.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'11 LTZ, born Aug 2010, Fairfax, KS

V6/A6, Red Jewel Tintcoat / Cocoa-Cashmere, Sunroof

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mods: WeatherTech mats,

::

Traded: '09 2LT Black Granite Metallic V6 / A6 at 20,058 miles
Lost: '11 LTZ RJT V6 / A6 in flood at 44K miles

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 07:25 AM
CMF Senior Member

Wow first time i heard of these cars coming without abs!

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 07:37 AM
Certified Technician

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthz View Post
Wow first time i heard of these cars coming without abs!
For a long time, it depended on the trim level.. a low-end wouldn't, but an LT or LTZ would.

Keeper of Eternal Flame, and two cans Eternal lighter fluid.