Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just replaced all the the timing chains with GM factory kits. Replaced water pump with a Gates.
(Used a torque wrench too LOL!)
Drove about 1200 miles and last night the temperature started creeping up. Stopped and added a gallon of premix. Water on dipstick this morning, milky about 3 inches above the full mark.
Howwould I know if it's the head gasket or the water pump. I had this happen on a 2009 I had in college, but just left in the parking lot when I graduated.
I've looked thru the forum but nothing specific to a how-to. I figure I'd ask before I tear it down and replace the head gasket.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
2,397 Posts
You replaced the timing chains. You know there is a small cover over the chain driven water pump sprocket, this is where the water pump shaft enters the engine oil environment. If it was leaking around the shaft which holds the sprocket, it might be visible here. Pressurizing the cooling system may be necessary.

However...before coolant can enter the engine at this location, the coolant would pass through a small chamber with a "coolant weep hole" at the bottom. This would allow the coolant to leak outside of the engine first. This weep hole is very hard to see, on the back side of the engine passenger side. A mirror is required and even then it's almost impossible to see.

My internet guess is the head gasket.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes aware of the weep hole as I drained the previous pump before removal. I’ll get it raised and pressure it.
just frustrating to put all name brand new parts and then this. Oh-well, appreciate the forum and it’s knowledge.
I’ll advise as I get it apart and back together in the next couple of weeks. (Real job keeps cutting into my fun projects)

·
Premium Member
2,397 Posts