Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey friends,

My 13 Malibu 2.5 @ 90k kms randomly stalls when stopped. When the vehicle has stalled, the radio, lights, nav menus all continue to work perfectly, as if in acc mode. I shift to park, and it starts back up, but VERY roughly. And in general, the idle is very rough when in Drive. However in Park, the idle is smooth.

To attempt to rectify over the past 12 months, below are the things I've had done:
  1. Battery replacement
  2. Throttle body cleaning
  3. Computer update
  4. ECM calibration
The dealer tells me they won't do anything because it doesn't throw any codes. I've reached out to GM customer service, but they were no help. I'm bewildered at an establishment that cannot troubleshoot issues of the vehicles they sell. It's extremely frustrating. Sorry for the little vent.

I'm by no means a mechanic, but this is a huge safety concern for me. I hate stalling, especially when making a left turns. I'm seeking the advice of anyone who has experienced similar and what your fix was.

Thanks in advance.

·
Administrator
2011 Malibu LTZ 3.6L V6 Red Jewel Tintcoat
20,832 Posts
Starting in 2013, all GM engines in the Malibu switched from SPI (sequential port injection) to DI (direct injection). As such, the fuel no longer sprays on the backside of the intake valves to help keep them clean.

It's possible that your engine has some build-up that is leading to this condition you're experiencing. An inspection is due, and if the results show that you have a significant amount of goo, a cleaning is in order. Unfortunately, you won't be able to get it out of a bottle. The most highly endorsed method is to have them cleaned with crushed walnut shells at a shop, unless you are able to do it yourself. But most folks aren't.

·
Super Moderator
2016 Malibu 1LT 1.5T/6-speed 6T40
4,359 Posts
GM 2.5L engine: check intake manifold bolts for proper torque.

·
Registered