Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I know a lot of people have reported bad things regarding a drop in K&N filter. I wanted a little improvement and wasn't interested in the CAI route which seemed to raise intake temps. Most in general have negative things to say regarding oiled filters. But I've been using K&N filters for about 15 years with no negative feedback only time I have seen something bad personally was when a buddy of mine over oiled his filter and it messed up his truck. On a positive note I got that little Woosh sound I was looking for and after a week seems like 3mpg better but they may just be a coincidence. Thanks for reading have a great labor day weekend.

Mpg recently

Attachments

·
Administrator
2011 Malibu LTZ 3.6L V6 Red Jewel Tintcoat
18,197 Posts
Even if all you did was to replace the original air filter with another paper one that doesn't have that blockage, you'll get more air with less effort.

K&N is known to flow more air. As you pointed out, the only real concerns:
  • If any oil comes off and deposits onto the MAF sensor
  • What size particles make it through the filter into the engine and if they cause any additional wear or not
Nice to see that you got a bump in MPG. I hope it IS a coincidence and directly related to the new filter. That'll mean that you get a small payback on every fill-up.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How are you getting 40+ MPG!!?? I have a 2016 Premier 2.0T and I only get around 24 - 26 MPG
Well I can't say it's all time and especially not of I'm just driving around town. But for the most part I stay in the 35+ range average. Maybe it's staying out of boost or just how I drive but my mpg is pretty good most of the time.

·
Super Moderator
2017 SS Sedan 6.2L
5,021 Posts