Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am a Hyundai Tech and I have never seen anything like this before. I have a 08 1LT and I figured I would see how easy it would be to change the cabin filter and saw "cut on dash line to install filter" written on the hvac box behind the glove box. You have to cut into the hvac box to install a cabin filter? Anyone cut into there brand new car yet? I dont want to be the test mule.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I'm curious what would make you think that there is a cabin filter? I've never seen anything to indicate that this vehicle has one.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
most vehicles produced today have a cabin filter. you know in this day of cleaner air you would think it would have one.so i figured why not check.
it has a spot for you just have to cut into it and i was wondering if anyone has done that yet.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I figured if it had one it would be in the manual or listed somewhere as a feature.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Yes I actually went and looked in my car for the "cut on dash line" feature and did not see this. I will not be cutting into my new Malibu.

·
Registered
701 Posts
WOW - Pretty crazy!

Interesting, although maybe I am missing something here....are you guys saying there is not actually a filter installed right now, BUT can you can install one if you make the simple cut?

·
CMF Honorary Member
1,143 Posts
Isn't there a member here that's a Service Tech for a Chevy Dealer? I'm sure he can shed some light on this.

Anyone remember who I'm talking about?

·
Registered
421 Posts