Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I've been driving a Chevy Colorado since 2006 and it's time to put her to pasture. I found a 2012 Malibu LT that was a personal leased vehicle with less than 15,000 miles on it for $15,000. I think it's a reasonable deal. What do you owners think?

The only thing on the Carfax report I saw was a "Exterior light check" at a dealership back in January. One owner in NY (I'm in the south). It's being transferred here in a week or so for me to go see it in person. I can't think of any reason not to buy it if it looks/drives ok.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
The car is worth 20-24k new depending on actual invoice and whether its LT or 2LT, I4 or V6; 15k is hypothetically on the high end of market value; I would try and negotiate it down but realistically speaking it's a great car for that price.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's a 1LT. According to KBB $15K is a good deal. No negotiating because it's at CarMax. I went and looked at it yesterday and loved it. Going back in a couple hours to pick it up.

It looks brand new and with only 15,000 miles on it it pretty much is. The only flaw I saw was pitting on aluminum parts in the engine. I know the car was used in NY for a year and a half so I'm guessing that's from snow and road salt.

·
Super Moderator
4,517 Posts
$15k is a great deal. The car is nearly new. Pitting on the metal engine parts under the hood is not a problem. As long as the car is cosmetically nice inside and out, you're getting a car that's 90% as nice and efficient as a brand new car for almost $10,000 less.

·
Super Moderator
4,517 Posts
Very nice! I always liked those alloy wheels. Enjoy! Be sure to post your impressions of the way it drives, fuel econ, etc.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8