Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
2006 LT 3.5
202,982 original miles ?

Hi Jon,
I don't know if you got your fans going or not, hopefully you have. But since no one has answered you I thought Id share what I have done with my same problem.
Mine are caused by wiring issues for the relays at the pcm. For now, this is a temporary fix, but I just direct wired my fans to kick on. There's lots of different ways you can do this. You can research on you tube.
I would suggest before that route check your relays and fuses.
There are some really good you tube videos on how to check for a bad relay/fuse/circuit also on you tube. The tools for checking are very inexpensive.
Digital multi meter and a test light. Both these you can get for under 5.00.
If you need any links or anything let me know.
Im not a mechanic but I do ALL my own work on my Malibu since day one. There may be better suggestions but something is better then nothing.
Bre

·
Registered
3 Posts
I have a 2006 chevy malibu lt v6..the cooling fans wont come on automatically..the fans do come on when i turn on the fan or a/c..HELP..any suggestions!??
Sorry, I need to let you know the wiring problem to relays isn't at pcm. It is the housing where the fuses and relays are under the hood by the pcm.
I thought about my wording and figured I should correct it. Sorry about that.
Bre

·
Registered
3 Posts
I just discovered this issue with mine....noticed the temp gauge creeping past it's usual resting spot so I activated the a/c and heard the fan(s) come on and the gauges needle returned to it's usual place...I will be "swapping" relays around to see if that's the issue then moving on to Bre's suggestions...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Has anyone come to a more conclusive resolution on this issue?? I am having the exact same issue with my 2006 Chevy Malibu LTZ v6 3.5L.