Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

How to: Restore your Malibu to a Better-Than-New Condition - Part 1: Exterior

14K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  DBATEM40 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello, I’m glad that you have chosen to learn how to properly detail and restore your Malibu to a better than new condition. This is Part 1 of a three part how-to; the first part covering the exterior, the second part covering the engine, and the third part covering the interior. All sections will outline the proper techniques required to detail the vehicle without causing any additional damage, such as micro marring or staining. I have been doing professional detailing for over 10 years now (more heavily in the last 3) and I believe my experience is seen in my work. Because of this, I have accumulated thousands of dollars worth of detailing products, some of which you likely will not have. In light of this, I will attempt to show you alternatives when specialty products are used. I hope you all enjoy this as you may get tips that you have never even thought of.

How can I restore my vehicle to a “better than new condition?”

When a vehicle leaves the lot, often it has been several months since the vehicle was assembled. During this time it sits in holding lots next to industrial plants, gets driven cross country in open trailers, and then sits on a dealers lot where they either hose or pressure wash them followed by a wipe down using a limited set of microfibers, or even worse “rags”. This exposes the vehicles to many airborne contaminants and subjects the paint to abuse before you even purchase it. This abuse continues throughout the life of your Malibu. Through the proper techniques, you can eliminate nearly all flaws caused by improper washing techniques and routine use, restore the paint to a new condition, and then use proper protectants to really bring out the most your Malibu will have to offer.

How do I know what I need to do?