Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

Im a Noob here, and I have a question that maybe some of you electrical wiz's can help me out with.

I acquired a pair of LTZ tail light assemblies with the LED bulbs. My wife loved the clear tail lights on the LTZ so I went to work and located a pair for her 08 LT2. My question/problem is, the OSRAM LED bulbs have a 4 pin male USCAR plug on them, which is different from the incandesent ones currently on the LT. I have done several searches and only came up with a guy that retrofitted the LTZ OSRAM bulb into his ZO6. He went on to state that the female USCAR plugs are not easy to find. No S*#T!!!!

Surely someone has to have these, I have a USCAR part number, but I have tried to contact them with no succsess. Anyone have any suggestions! With the right plug, I can mahe a harness so I wouldn't have to cut and splice!

Thanks!!

·
Registered
139 Posts
I never really saw the big deal about changing these lights but I like the fact that you claim your wife wanted them so at least now you can blame her for your troubles!!:D

·
Registered
11 Posts
Let me know how hard this is to do because I was wanting to do this also.

·
Registered
18 Posts
you should be able to get the pig tails from a chevy dealer! I did with a lighter and was able to buy one.
A friend of mine with an LT1 got a pair of cut off plugs from an auto salvage yard that was on a national parts locator

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wisconsin, Not only do they look cool but there's a subtle safety aspect to them. They turn on much faster. Incandescent bulbs require 200 ms to come up to brightness. Eliminating this delay means the driver following you can react to your brake lights 200 ms sooner. When you're doing 55 MPH, that's sixteen feet!