Chevrolet Malibu Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

It is my first time posting on the site, so if I need to give any additional information or move the post, just let me know.

I have only had the car for a year, and it was passed down from a relative. Starting about six months ago, my 2013 Malibu began to leak after it rained. Only the driver side front and back floorboards were wet. No water or staining appeared to be on the door, roof, around the sunroof or, on the dashboard. The floorboards were not just a little wet; they were soaked. I got out the shop vac, sucked all the water out, then when on with my life. While vacuuming, I smelled and felt the liquid to confirm it was water and not coolant due to a heater core issue. Winter rolled around, and the problem seemed to disappear. Then once spring rains came, the problem started anew. I decided to take the side paneling out from the front driver's side and the carpet to get a better look. I sat in the car during a heavy rainstorm and saw the water pouring in from a hole in what appears to be the frame of the car (I have attached a photo of where I am talking about). I have no idea why water is not properly draining from this location, or if the water is even supposed to be there. Any information, help, or ideas would be much appreciated!!!!

The car does have a sunroof, but I hardly have used it. Like I mentioned before, it was previously owned, but to my knowledge, it was stored in a garage, so the problem never occurred for them.

I do not have a garage, but I have considered buying a cover if I can not quickly or cheaply fix this problem.

Car leak.jpg

·
Administrator
2011 Malibu LTZ 3.6L V6 Red Jewel Tintcoat
18,490 Posts